Worldview Image of the Week

Sulfur Dioxide Plume from the Mauna Loa Volcano Eruption, Hawaii

Image captured on Nov 28, 2022, by the MODIS and AIRS instruments aboard the Aqua satellite.

Image
Sulfur Dioxide Plume from the Mauna Loa Volcano Eruption, Hawaii on 28 November 2022 from the AIRS instrument aboard the Aqua satellite

This true color corrected reflectance image is overlaid with the Prata Sulfur Dioxide (SO2) Index (Day) layer showing the Sulfur Dioxide plume from the Mauna Loa Volcano eruption on November 28, 2022. The corrected reflectance image was acquired by the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS), and the sulfur dioxide layer is from the Atmospheric Infrared Sounder (AIRS) instrument; both instruments are aboard the Aqua satellite.

Mauna Loa, on the island of Hawaii, started erupting on November 27 around 11:30 p.m., HST (4:30 a.m., EST, November 28) and the image above is from approximately 1:40 p.m., HST (6:40 p.m., EST), on November 28. The plume is visible to the right of the Hawaiian islands. The Sulfur Dioxide Index layer shows the sulfur dioxide column amounts in the atmosphere, measured in Dobson Units (DU), with high values in red.

Visit Worldview to visualize near real-time imagery from NASA's EOSDIS; check out more Worldview weekly images in our archive.

Last Updated