Worldview Image of the Week

Super Typhoon Nanmadol

Image captured on 18 September 2022 by the AHI instrument aboard the Himawari-8 satellite.

Image
Clean Infrared animation of Super Typhoon Nanmadol over Kyushu Island, Japan on 18 September 2022 (AHI/Himawari-8)

This clean infrared animation shows Super Typhoon Nanmadol traveling over Kyushu Island, Japan, on 18 September 2022 from 2:50 to 12:40 Coordinated Universal Time (UTC, which is 11:50 a.m. to 9:40 p.m. Japan Standard Time, JST, or 10:50 p.m. to 8:40 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time, EDT). This image was acquired by the Advanced Himawari Imager (AHI) Instrument, aboard the Himawari-8 satellite. Watch the storm move northwestward over the island. The storm is projected to continue moving toward the largest island, Honshu, in the next few days. View the animation in Worldview.

Visit Worldview to visualize near real-time imagery from NASA's EOSDIS, and check out more Worldview weekly images in our archive.

Reference: Maishman, Elsa. (19 September 2022). Japan storm: Nine million people told to evacuate as super typhoon Nanmadol hits. BCC News. https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-62952942

Last Updated
Sep 19, 2022